Reader Question: Brooches

Mercedes Bien jewelry

One of the beautiful pieces of jewelry at Mercedes Bien

A reader wrote in this week seeking help in preparation for her wedding. She wrote:

Would you know of a great stop, or strip, to find a rhinestone brooch for my wedding dress? I will wear it on my waist, on the side.

She noted that she’s already visited some of the “usual suspects” in the 14th Street area.

I responded:

If you’ve hit the 14th/U Street area, then you’ve probably already been to Legendary Beast, which would have been my first suggestion! A few others I would check out (or at least call to scope out what they have) are Mercedes Bien on 18th Street in Adams Morgan (only open on the weekends), Pretty People in Alexandria and Elinor Coleman’s Vintage Mirage, also in Alexandria. I haven’t visited the latter myself but I’ve peeked in the window and it seems like the kind of place that would have elegant jewelry from yesteryear.

Another thought that just came to be would be It’s Vintage, Darling on 14th just above Columbia Heights. They usually have great statement pieces when it comes to jewelry.

It’s definitely worth a couple of calls before you go to see if they have anything in the range of what you’re looking for. I know that I always have a backstock of items and so when I know a shopper is looking for something special, I can dig into “the reserves.”

Can you help our dear reader find something wonderful for her wedding day? What shops would you recommend?


Filed under Accessories, Jewelry, Wedding

4 responses to “Reader Question: Brooches

  1. I’m with you, Legendary Beast would be my #1 suggestion. I think alot of people still don’t even know about this killer jewelry shop (anne rocks!)

  2. Liz

    I love your recommendations! The 14th Street area is my fave shopping place in DC.

  3. I really started wearing brooches about a year ago and totally love them. A quick idea is for your reader is to ask her mother or mother-in-law if they have anything that may work. Brooches were so huge in the 80’s and early 90’s that an older family member may have a number of them around. Plus, it would be a great way for them to feel like they are a special part of the wedding.
    Love it that a brooch is making an appearance on her wedding dress! So cool!

  4. CN

    A couple eastern market vendors have lovely brooches too.

Leave a Reply

