Redesigned vintage pieces available at Nana

Ginger Root Design vintage

 

All summer, I’ve been pondering some vintage pieces that were just a bit…off. There was something that struck me about each garment in question—the fabric, the colors, maybe the pattern—but these pieces were all way over the line between quirky and weird.

I can sew on a button or adjust a hem, but I am not yet a master seamstress who can remake a piece. So off I went to Ginger Root Design, where I asked for a few makeovers.

I should have taken a few “before” photos, but for now, I hope you’ll enjoy these “after” photos from the first two finished products. They’re available exclusively at Nana, my favorite spot to offer vintage.

vintage tunic revamped
I loved the bohemian, slightly off-center theme of this dark orange top, which I discovered as a boxy tunic with an uneven hem. The gingers snipped the hem so rest just a hair longer in the back, and cropped the sleeves from elbow-grazing to shoulder-capping. The formerly sloppy V-neck is now neat and slightly deeper.

To create the look above, I took an elastic-waist ivory midi skirt ($38) and put it over the bust to make it a mini-dress. The revamped tunic ($64) is worn on top and belted in the back. I love this top with jeans or cropped pants, too. I would have liked to pair a braided brown belt with this look!

 

revamped vintage cape

I wasn’t sure what to make of this poncho at first, but I was drawn to brilliant tomato-red on white. But this cape had way too much dowdy fringe for anyone’s good. It was an afghan gone wrong, seriously.

Ginger Root Design trimmed the fringe and rounded this little number into a fun capelet. There are arm holes on each side to make life easier, too! I paired the cape ($88) with Nana’s Anywhere Dress (currently $90). The pop of color on the cape looks great with the subdued chambray of the dress. I’d wear the cape over a simple black tank and skinny dark denim for a casual match.  An extra layer for autumn days and nights sounds like a task this cape can satisfy!

Look for more redesigned vintage pieces later this fall. For now, I hope you’ll admire these two pieces at Nana! Thank you, Ginger Root Design, for making them beautiful again!

Leave a comment

Filed under Mt. Pleasant, Repairs, U Street, Vintage

Leave a Reply

